Oliver Bateman Does the Work
Oliver Bateman Does the Work
The Work of Job
4
0:00
-45:00

The Work of Job

"Have I not received everything back, only doubled?"
4
Transcript

No transcript...

I’ve decided to release this lecture on the Book of Job, which is tied directly to the lecture on Kierkegaard’s Repetition that I shared yesterday.

“Is repetition not possible? Have I not received everything back, only doubled? Have I not myself again, and in such a way that I have a double appreciation of what this means? And what is a repetition of worldly goods, which have no meaning in relation to spiritual matters, compared to such a repetition? Only Job’s children were not returned to him twofold, because a human life does not allow itself to be doubled in this way. Here only a spiritual repetition is possible, even though it cannot be so complete temporally as in eternity where there is true repetition.” Søren Kierkegaard, Repetition: An Essay in Experimental Psychology (click here to download)

In the interest of keeping this Substack in operation past 2024, I’m going to start pushing much harder to secure paid subscriptions. I want this to be a near-daily publication, a publication that ceaselessly explores “the work” in its myriad forms. Click that little heart, leave a comment, and then sign up below to support this work.


Suggested reading

Book of Job (KJV), https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Job%201&version=KJV 

Suggested viewing 

A Serious Man (2009)

If you’re one of the many subscribers with access to these posts, I’m urging you to click the heart, leave a comment, restack the article, or otherwise engage in some fashion. I hate making so gauche a request — I’ve always been a “take it or leave it” sort of person who has asked for nothing — but we are now late in the evening of my dis-CONTENT, and only extremely uncouth marketing methods (i.e., outright pleas for assistance) can ensure the perpetuation of this work. Thanks for everything you do!

Share

undefined
4 Comments
Oliver Bateman Does the Work
Oliver Bateman Does the Work
The continuation (from "What's Left?") of Oliver's interviews with people about the interesting work they do + solo episodes covering assorted academic topics.